Choosing a dictation app for Windows
Windows already ships a dictation tool, and for a lot of people it is enough. This guide is for the moment it is not: it lists what Win+H actually does, where its limits come from, which third-party apps run on Windows, how to think about cloud versus offline processing, and how to judge an installer that Windows warns you about.
What Windows voice typing gives you, and where it stops
Press Windows key + H with the cursor in a text box, wait for “Listening...”, and speak. Say “Stop listening” or click the microphone button when you are done. In the gear menu of the voice typing bar you can turn on automatic punctuation, enable the voice typing launcher and choose the default microphone. Our Windows voice typing walkthrough has every step and command.
The limits are worth knowing before you shop, because they explain why people look elsewhere:
- It needs the internet. Microsoft states that voice typing uses online speech recognition powered by Azure Speech services. No connection, no dictation.
- Windows 10 is a different, older feature, and its voice commands work in US English only.
- Language support is a fixed list. Windows 11 covers several English variants, Spanish (Mexico and Spain), French, German, Japanese, Korean and more; you add them in Settings > Time & language > Language & region and switch with Windows key + Space. Commands depend on the language.
- Fluid dictation (grammar, punctuation and filler-word cleanup using on-device small language models) is a Copilot+ PC feature in English locales only, and it is disabled in password and PIN fields.
If you have a Copilot+ PC, write in a supported language and are always online, test the built-in tool for a week first. It may cover you.
Dictation apps that run on Windows
| App | Also on | Price | Offline option |
|---|---|---|---|
| Windows voice typing | Windows only | Free | No, online speech recognition |
| Wispr Flow | Mac, iOS, Android | Free with weekly cap; Pro $15/month or $12/month yearly | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Superwhisper | Mac, iOS, Android | Free tier; Pro, see their page | Free tier lists unlimited Whisper models; check their page for Windows details |
| Aqua Voice | Mac, iOS, Android | Free 1,000 words; Pro $10/month yearly or $12 monthly | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Voice Monkeys | Mac, Linux (X11) | $12/month or $96/year, 7-day trial | Yes, optional model, about 640 MB download |
Note what is missing from Windows compared with the Mac: there is no well-known one-time-purchase option among these tools. VoiceInk, a popular pay-once app, is Mac only. Expect a subscription or a free tier with limits.
Cloud or offline: decide before you compare features
A cloud dictation app sends your audio to a server, which turns it into text and sends the text back. The benefit is that your laptop's hardware does not matter much. The cost is that you need a connection and you are trusting the vendor with what you say. Offline means the speech model runs on your PC; it works on a train without signal and nothing leaves the machine, but it needs disk space and some processing power.
Ask each vendor two concrete questions: where is the server, and is audio or text stored after transcription? If the pricing page does not say, as is the case for Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice, look for a privacy or security page before you dictate anything sensitive, and check your employer's rules. Aqua Voice's pricing page does list a SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001 for teams that need that paperwork.
For transparency, here is how Voice Monkeys handles it on Windows: by default, audio goes encrypted to a server in Falkenstein, Germany, is converted to text in memory and discarded; neither audio nor text is stored, only the seconds used are counted. If you would rather nothing leaves the PC, you can download an optional offline model once (about 640 MB).
Installers, SmartScreen and how to stay safe
Small and new apps often trigger a Microsoft Defender SmartScreen warning when you run their installer. Microsoft's documentation explains why: SmartScreen checks downloaded files against a list of files that are well known and downloaded frequently, and anything without an established reputation is treated as higher risk and shows a warning. A warning therefore means “Windows has not seen this much yet”, not “this is malware”. But it also does not mean the file is safe, so do the checks yourself.
We will be direct about our own case: the Voice Monkeys Windows build is new and has not yet built up that reputation, so SmartScreen may warn when you install it. That is exactly the situation the checklist below is for.
- Download only from the vendor's own website, never from a mirror or a link in a comment.
- In the warning, look at the publisher details before deciding. If the publisher is unknown and you got the file from somewhere unexpected, stop.
- On a work PC managed by IT, SmartScreen may be enforced by policy. Ask IT rather than looking for a workaround.
- If you believe a warning is wrong, Microsoft accepts file submissions for review.
What to test on Windows before you pay
Windows setups vary more than Macs, so test on your actual machine and with your actual apps. Run each trial through this list:
- Every app you type in: Outlook or your mail client, Teams or Slack, a browser text box, Word, and any older desktop program you rely on. Some apps handle simulated typing differently.
- Your microphone: a laptop's built-in mic, then a headset. Bluetooth headsets sometimes switch to a lower-quality mode when the microphone opens.
- The hotkey: make sure it does not clash with your keyboard layout. On many European layouts right Alt acts as AltGr for characters like @ or €, so confirm the dictation key still lets you type those.
- A sentence with numbers and names: “Order 25 units of part B-114 for the Leipzig site and confirm delivery before 9 a.m. on Monday.”
- Offline behaviour: pull the network cable or turn on airplane mode, then dictate.
- Admin rights: check whether the installer needs them; on a locked-down work PC that decides everything.
Our short recommendations for Windows
If you are online, write in a supported language and dictate short bits, stay with Win+H. If you need the same tool on your phone, try Wispr Flow, Superwhisper or Aqua Voice; all three list Windows and mobile apps. If you want an offline option on the PC, a 7-day trial, and Linux support on a second machine, try Voice Monkeys: you download it, hold right Alt, speak and release, and the text appears at the cursor. Its Windows plan is $12 a month or $96 a year, covers up to 5 computers (dictating on one at a time) and includes 90 hours a month.
For the bigger picture across all platforms, see the overview of dictation apps. If you use a Mac as well, the Mac buyer's guide covers the one-time options that exist there, and the Wispr Flow alternatives guide compares subscriptions in more detail.
Questions and answers
Does Windows have built-in dictation?
Yes. Press Windows key + H in a text field, wait for “Listening...”, and speak. It needs an internet connection because it uses online speech recognition.
Is there an offline dictation app for Windows?
Windows voice typing is online only. Voice Monkeys has an optional offline model for Windows (about 640 MB). For other apps, check their pages, and test with airplane mode on.
Why does Windows warn me when I install a dictation app?
SmartScreen warns about files without an established reputation, which includes most new apps. Download from the vendor's site, check the publisher, and ask IT on a managed PC.
What is the best dictation app for Windows 10?
Windows 10's own dictation has voice commands in US English only, so a third-party app is often the better choice there. Test two on your machine with the checklist above.
Can I use one dictation subscription on several PCs?
It depends on the vendor. Voice Monkeys covers up to 5 computers, with one dictating at a time; check other vendors' pricing pages for their device rules.
Sources
- Microsoft: Use voice typing to talk instead of type on your PC (checked November 6, 2026)
- Microsoft Learn: Microsoft Defender SmartScreen overview (checked November 6, 2026)
- Wispr Flow pricing (checked November 6, 2026)
- Superwhisper (checked November 6, 2026)
- Aqua Voice pricing (checked November 6, 2026)
- VoiceInk (checked November 6, 2026)