The best dictation apps, and how to pick the right one for you
There is no single best dictation app. There is the one that runs on your computer, fits how you pay for software, and sends your voice only where you are comfortable sending it. This page is the hub: every serious option in one table, a decision guide, and the exact test we use so you can check our conclusions on your own voice in about twenty minutes.
How we compare dictation apps
Marketing pages all promise fast, accurate text. That tells you nothing, so we compare on things you can verify: which systems the app runs on, how you pay, where the audio is turned into text, and how dictation is started and stopped. Prices and features below come from each vendor's own page, checked on 6 November 2026 and linked at the bottom. We do not publish accuracy percentages for any product, ours included, because accuracy depends on your microphone, your accent, your vocabulary and the room you are in. A number measured on someone else's voice is close to meaningless for yours.
What we do instead is give every app the same three passages, read the same way, into the same text field, and look at the result with a red pen. You can repeat that test yourself; the script is further down.
All the main options at a glance
| Tool | Runs on | How you pay | Where speech is processed |
|---|---|---|---|
| macOS Dictation | Mac | Included with macOS | On device or Siri servers; Keyboard settings show which |
| Windows voice typing | Windows | Included with Windows | Online speech recognition, internet required |
| Wispr Flow | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Free tier with weekly word cap; Pro $15/month or $12/month yearly | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Superwhisper | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Free tier; Pro price on their page | Local Whisper models plus optional cloud models |
| VoiceInk | Mac (Apple Silicon, macOS 14.4+), iOS | One-time: $25 for 1 Mac, $39 for 2, $49 for 3 | On device; optional cloud step handles text only |
| Aqua Voice | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android | Free 1,000 words; Pro $10/month yearly or $12 monthly | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Voice Monkeys | Mac, Windows, Linux (X11) | $25 once on Apple Silicon; $12/month or $96/year elsewhere | On the Mac (Apple Silicon); encrypted cloud in Germany otherwise, optional offline model on Windows/Linux |
Two patterns jump out. Phones are covered by Wispr Flow, Superwhisper and Aqua Voice, so if you need the same tool on desktop and phone, start there. And if you want to pay once and keep your audio on the machine, the Apple Silicon Mac is the platform where that is easiest today.
Start with what is already on your computer
Before paying anything, try the built-in tool for a day. On a Mac it lives in System Settings > Keyboard > Dictation, and our Mac dictation walkthrough covers setup, spoken punctuation and the usual problems. On Windows, press Windows key + H in any text box and wait for “Listening...”; the Windows voice typing guide goes through the commands and settings.
The built-in tools are free and decent for short bursts. Where they tend to lose people is the daily workflow: macOS Dictation stops itself after 30 seconds without speech and is unavailable while Voice Control is on; Windows voice typing needs an internet connection, and on Windows 10 its voice commands work in US English only. If those limits never bother you, you may not need anything else.
The dedicated apps, in plain terms
Wispr Flow covers the most devices of anything here (Mac, Windows, iOS, Android) and has a free plan with a weekly word cap whose size the pricing page does not state. Pro is $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually. If you are weighing it against others, our Wispr Flow alternatives page goes deeper.
Superwhisper also runs on all four platforms. Its free tier already includes unlimited local Whisper models and more than 100 languages; Pro adds cloud and local AI models and translation into English. Their own site notes that offline models run really well only on Apple Silicon Macs and that Intel Macs work best with cloud models, which is worth knowing if your Mac is an older Intel model.
VoiceInk is a Mac-only, one-time purchase that transcribes on the device with local models. Prices are $25 for one Mac, $39 for two and $49 for three, with lifetime updates and a 14-day money-back window. It needs Apple Silicon and macOS 14.4 or newer, and the code is published on GitHub.
Aqua Voice has a small free allowance of 1,000 words, then Pro at $10 a month billed yearly or $12 monthly, with higher Max and Business tiers. Its pricing page lists a SOC 2 Type II report and ISO 27001; if that kind of paperwork matters at your workplace, read their page and check it against your own rules.
Voice Monkeys is our app, so weigh this paragraph accordingly. You hold a key (right Option on a Mac, right Alt on Windows and Linux), speak, release, and the text appears at the cursor in whatever app you are in. On an M1 or newer Mac with macOS 14+, it runs the speech model on the Neural Engine, works offline after a one-time download of about 600 MB, and costs $25 once. On Windows, Linux and Intel Macs it is a $12 a month or $96 a year subscription with 90 hours of dictation a month; audio goes encrypted to a server in Falkenstein, Germany, is converted in memory and discarded. It does not have a phone app and does not transcribe files or meetings, so if you need either, pick one of the tools above. You can download it and use it free for 7 days.
Decision guide: which one fits you
- You need dictation on your phone too: Wispr Flow, Superwhisper or Aqua Voice.
- Apple Silicon Mac, want to pay once, want audio to stay local: VoiceInk or Voice Monkeys. Our Mac buyer's guide compares the Mac-specific details.
- Intel Mac: expect cloud processing from most tools; Superwhisper says so directly, and Voice Monkeys uses its cloud subscription there.
- Windows PC: test Windows key + H first, then the Windows-capable apps. The Windows buyer's guide covers installers, offline options and what to check.
- Linux desktop: few mainstream options. Voice Monkeys supports X11 sessions, not Wayland.
- You dictate in two languages in one message: check each vendor's language list for both of yours; Voice Monkeys recognises its 25 languages by ear, mixed in one sentence.
- You only dictate a few sentences a week: stay with the built-in tool or a free tier. Paying makes sense once dictation becomes a habit.
Run the same test we use (about 20 minutes)
Install two candidates, or one candidate plus the built-in tool. Open a plain text editor, put the microphone where it will live day to day, and read these three passages into each tool at normal speed, without pausing to correct anything:
- Names and numbers: “Send the March invoice for 1,240 euros to Marta Lindqvist by Friday the 14th, and copy Jonas on the thread.”
- Your own jargon: one real sentence from your work, with product names, abbreviations or drug names you actually use.
- A long thought: a full minute explaining something to a colleague, including a pause of ten seconds in the middle while you think.
- Then count corrections per passage, note whether punctuation was added, whether the long pause ended the session, and how many keystrokes it took to start and stop.
Finally, switch off Wi-Fi and try once more. If the app keeps working, its speech model is running locally. If it stops, your audio was going to a server, which is fine as long as you know it. The tool with the fewest corrections on passage two is usually the one you will still be using in a month.
One-time price versus subscription, over two years
Using the prices on each vendor's page and yearly billing where offered, two years of Wispr Flow Pro comes to $288, Aqua Voice Pro to $240, and the Voice Monkeys cloud plan to $192. VoiceInk's single-Mac licence and Voice Monkeys on Apple Silicon are both $25 in total. A subscription can still be the right call: it usually covers several devices and phones, and the vendor keeps paying for servers. But if you only dictate on one Apple Silicon Mac, a one-time licence is hard to beat on cost.
Questions and answers
What is the best free dictation app?
The built-in tools (macOS Dictation and Windows voice typing) cost nothing and need no install. Among dedicated apps, Superwhisper's free tier includes unlimited local Whisper models, and Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice offer free tiers with word limits.
Which dictation apps work offline?
On Apple Silicon Macs, VoiceInk and Voice Monkeys transcribe on the device, and Superwhisper offers local Whisper models. Voice Monkeys also has an optional offline model on Windows and Linux (about 640 MB). The quickest check for any app is to switch off Wi-Fi and dictate.
Is a dictation app more accurate than built-in dictation?
It depends on your voice, vocabulary and microphone, so we do not quote accuracy numbers. Run the three-passage test above with both and count corrections.
Do dictation apps work in every program?
System-wide tools type at the cursor, so they work in email, chat, documents and browsers. Password fields and some secure inputs are often excluded on purpose.
Can I dictate on my phone and computer with one subscription?
Wispr Flow, Superwhisper and Aqua Voice all list desktop and mobile apps; check each pricing page for what a plan includes. Voice Monkeys is desktop only.
Sources
- Apple: Use Dictation on Mac (checked November 6, 2026)
- Microsoft: Use voice typing to talk instead of type on your PC (checked November 6, 2026)
- Wispr Flow pricing (checked November 6, 2026)
- Superwhisper (checked November 6, 2026)
- VoiceInk (checked November 6, 2026)
- Aqua Voice pricing (checked November 6, 2026)