Voice Monkeys vs Wispr Flow
Voice Monkeys and Wispr Flow both turn speech into typed text in whatever app you are using, but they are built for different people. Wispr Flow is a subscription with apps on four platforms, a meeting notetaker and team plans. Voice Monkeys is a one-time purchase on Apple Silicon Macs and a subscription on Windows, Linux and Intel Macs, with no phone app. We make Voice Monkeys, so this page sticks to what each product's own page states (Wispr Flow's pricing page, checked 6 November 2026) and marks gaps instead of filling them with guesses.
Side by side
'Not stated' means the vendor's page did not say, not that the feature is missing. Check the vendor if a blank matters to you.
| Voice Monkeys | Wispr Flow | |
|---|---|---|
| Desktop platforms | Mac with Apple Silicon (macOS 14+); Windows, Linux (X11) and Intel Mac via the cloud plan | Mac, Windows |
| Phone apps | None | iOS and Android |
| Free option | 7-day trial (no card on Mac, card on the cloud plan); 15-second web demo | Free plan with a weekly word limit (number not stated) |
| Individual price | $25 once on Apple Silicon Mac; $12 a month or $96 a year for the cloud plan | Pro: $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually |
| Usage limit on paid plan | Mac licence: none listed; cloud plan: 90 hours a month | Pro: unlimited dictation |
| Team plans | Not offered | Pro team features, Growth, Enterprise |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac's Neural Engine; cloud plan: server in Germany, audio and text not stored | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Works offline | Yes on Apple Silicon after a ~600 MB download; optional ~640 MB offline model on Windows and Linux | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Meeting notes | No, live dictation only | Notetaker on Mac and Windows |
| Languages | 25 European languages, can be mixed in one sentence | 100+ languages |
| Devices | 1 Mac per licence (movable); cloud plan up to 5 computers, one dictating at a time | Not stated |
| Refund or cancel | Refund within 14 days, no questions | Cancel anytime; refund terms not stated |
Wispr Flow's page also lists a dictionary and snippets on every plan, an option to opt out of model training, and SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certification. Voice Monkeys' Windows and Linux builds are new, so Windows SmartScreen may warn when you install them.
What each costs over one, two and three years
| Plan | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Voice Monkeys, Apple Silicon Mac | $25 | $25 | $25 |
| Voice Monkeys cloud, billed yearly | $96 | $192 | $288 |
| Voice Monkeys cloud, billed monthly | $144 | $288 | $432 |
| Wispr Flow Free | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Wispr Flow Pro, billed annually | $144 | $288 | $432 |
| Wispr Flow Pro, billed monthly | $180 | $360 | $540 |
The arithmetic: Wispr Flow Pro annual is $12 x 12 = $144 a year, x 3 = $432. Monthly is $15 x 12 = $180, x 3 = $540. The Voice Monkeys cloud plan is $96 a year (x 3 = $288) or $12 x 12 = $144 a year billed monthly (x 3 = $432). The Mac licence is paid once.
On an Apple Silicon Mac the gap is large: $432 minus $25 = $407 over three years against Wispr Flow Pro annual. On Windows the gap is smaller: $144 minus $96 = $48 a year, $144 over three years, in favour of the Voice Monkeys yearly plan. Billed monthly, Voice Monkeys ($144 a year) costs the same as Wispr Flow Pro billed annually, and $36 a year less than Wispr Flow Pro billed monthly ($180). Against a free plan that covers your needs, both paid options lose.
Choose Wispr Flow if
- You dictate on your phone. Wispr Flow lists iOS and Android apps. Voice Monkeys has no phone app at all, so this alone settles it for many people.
- You need a meeting notetaker. Wispr Flow has one on Mac and Windows. Voice Monkeys only types what you say live and does not transcribe meetings or files.
- You are buying for a team. Shared dictionaries, centralized billing, usage analytics and admin tools are on Wispr Flow's plans. Voice Monkeys has no team plan.
- You dictate in a language outside its 25. Wispr Flow lists 100+ languages; Voice Monkeys covers 25 European ones.
- The free weekly allowance covers you. Then Wispr Flow costs nothing, and nothing beats free.
- You want a Windows app that is not brand new. Voice Monkeys' Windows build is recent and may trigger a SmartScreen warning.
Choose Voice Monkeys if
- You work on one Apple Silicon Mac and prefer to pay once. $25 versus $144 a year is the main difference for a solo user.
- You want a documented answer to where your voice goes. On Apple Silicon it never leaves the Mac; on the cloud plan it is processed in memory on a server in Falkenstein, Germany and discarded. Wispr Flow's pricing page does not say where dictation audio is processed, so ask them if this matters.
- You need dictation without internet. On Apple Silicon it works offline after the one-time model download; on Windows and Linux an optional offline model is available.
- You use Linux. Voice Monkeys runs in X11 sessions; Wispr Flow does not list Linux.
- You switch languages mid-sentence. Voice Monkeys detects the language by ear among its 25, without changing a setting.
Daily use: what the gesture looks like
In Voice Monkeys you hold the right Option key on a Mac (right Alt on Windows and Linux), say the sentence, and release; the text is typed at the cursor of whatever app is in front. A quick tap instead of a hold starts hands-free mode, which keeps listening until you tap again, useful for a long email. Esc throws away the current recording. On a Mac you can move the trigger to Fn or right Command in settings if Option is taken.
For Wispr Flow's shortcuts and modes, see its own documentation; we have not described them here because they are not on the pricing page we checked. The practical test is the same for both: dictate a real message, for example 'Hi Sam, the draft is attached, can you send comments by Wednesday', into your mail app and count what you have to fix.
Running both for a week
- Start the Voice Monkeys 7-day trial (download) while keeping Wispr Flow; set different keys so they never listen together.
- Use each for half of your normal messages, alternating by day rather than by message, so you get used to one gesture at a time.
- Note every correction for names, numbers and punctuation. Those are where tools diverge.
- On a laptop, try one session with Wi-Fi off.
- If you mostly need a phone, stop here: Voice Monkeys cannot replace that part. Broader options are in Wispr Flow alternatives, and the other one-time Mac app is covered in Voice Monkeys vs VoiceInk. Free built-in options are in dictation on Mac.
Questions and answers
Is Voice Monkeys cheaper than Wispr Flow?
On an Apple Silicon Mac, yes: $25 once against $144 a year for Wispr Flow Pro billed annually. On Windows the Voice Monkeys yearly plan is $96 against $144. Wispr Flow's free plan costs nothing if its weekly limit is enough.
Does Voice Monkeys have a phone app like Wispr Flow?
No. Voice Monkeys runs on Mac, Windows and Linux only. Wispr Flow lists iOS and Android.
Which one works offline?
Voice Monkeys works offline on Apple Silicon Macs after a one-time download of about 600 MB, and has an optional offline model on Windows and Linux. Wispr Flow's pricing page does not state whether dictation works offline.
Can I move from Wispr Flow to Voice Monkeys mid-subscription?
Yes, they are independent apps. Keep Wispr Flow until its paid term ends and use that time to trial Voice Monkeys.
Does either app transcribe meetings?
Wispr Flow has a Notetaker on Mac and Windows. Voice Monkeys does not transcribe meetings or audio files.
Sources
- Wispr Flow pricing (checked November 6, 2026)
- VoiceInk (checked November 6, 2026)